Cart

Categories

Wellness

$40.00

Wellness

In stock

SKU: 9781035008353 Category:

ISBN: 9781035008353
Title: Wellness
Author: HILL NATHAN

'A hilarious and moving exploration of a modern marriage that astounds in its breadth and intimacy' - Brit Benett, author of The Mothers and The Vanishing Half

From Nathan Hill, acclaimed author of The Nix, comes another hugely ambitious novel, about how we change, grow and age. Wellness is a story of marriage, middle age, our tech-obsessed health culture, and the bonds that keep people together, for readers of Jonathan Franzen, Jennifer Egan and Elizabeth Strout.

When Jack and Elizabeth meet as college students in the 90s, the two quickly join forces and hold on tight, each eager to claim a place in Chicago's thriving underground art scene with an appreciative kindred spirit. Fast-forward twenty years to married life, and the no-longer-youthful dreamers are forced to face their demons, from unfulfilled career ambitions to painful childhood memories of their own dysfunctional families. In the process, Jack and Elizabeth must undertake separate, personal excavations, or risk losing the best thing in their lives: each other.

Moving from the gritty 90s Chicago art scene to a suburbia of detox diets and home renovation hysteria, Wellness mines the absurdities of modern technology and modern love to reveal profound, startling truths about intimacy and connection. In this follow-up to Hill's electric debut, Wellness reimagines the love story with healthy doses of insight, irony and heart.

'Nathan Hill is a maestro . . . the best new writer of fiction in America - the best' - John Irving

Format: Trade paperback
Price: $40.00

Additional information

Dimensions 234 × 154 × 50 mm